Professor of NKUA, George Chrousos, received the Andrea Prader Prize 2023

The European Society of Paediatric Endocrinology (ΕSPE – awarded the Andrea Prader Prize 2023 to Professor of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA) George Chrousos.

ESPE announced the award during its 61st Annual Meeting, which took place in The Hague, Netherlands, from 21 to 23 September 2023 (

The Andrea Prader Prize is the most significant ESPE award. A distinguished ESPE member receives this award every year in appreciation of their excellence in leadership, lifetime achievements in teaching and research, and outstanding overall contribution to paediatric endocrinology. The prize is awarded through final selection by the Andrea Prader Committee.

George P. Chrousos, CV

George Chrousos is Professor Emeritus of Paediatrics and Endocrinology, Head of the NKUA’s Unit on Clinical and Translational Research in Endocrinology, and Director of the Research Institute for Maternal and Child Health and Precision Medicine of the same University. He has held the UNESCO Chair on Adolescent Health Care at NKUA since 2010. Also, in 2011, he held the John Kluge Distinguished Chair in Technοlogy and Society at the US Library of Congress.

Before returning to Greece in 2000, he was Chief of the Paediatric and Reproductive Endocrinology Branch of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development in Bethesda, Maryland, and Professor of Paediatrics, Physiology, and Biophysics at Georgetown University, Washington, DC, titles he holds to the present day.

G. Chrousos is well-known for his work on the glucocorticoid signalling system of the cell, the diseases of the HPA axis, and the physiologic and molecular mechanisms of stress. He has made significant contributions to the biomedical literature and thus expanded our understanding of chronic complex human disorders, such as depression, the metabolic syndrome, and autoimmune diseases.

Throughout his career, he has worked as a mentor and collaborator with an impressive group of young scientists, including doctors and researchers from other disciplines, such as biologists, psychologists, nutritionists, and so on. All of them are now successful in their fields and/or enjoy positions in the academic, clinical, and industrial sectors.

He has authored over 1,000 original scientific papers, and his work has been cited internationally in more than 190,000 scientific publications, an eloquent testimony to the significance and influence of his research. According to the Institute of Scientific Information, he is one of the most cited scientists (ISI highly cited) in Clinical Medicine and Biology & Biochemistry, and the most cited clinical paediatrician and endocrinologist worldwide. He is also the only Greek doctor-scientist in the list of 100 most cited doctors-scientists in the world.

Professor Chrousos is a Master of the American College of Physicians and the American College of Endocrinology and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, London, UK. Among other things, he is a Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Liège, Belgium, the University of Ancona, Italy, and the University of Patras, Greece, and an Honorary Professor of the University of Warwick, UK, Saint Petersburg State Paediatric Medical University, Russia, Xi’an Medical University, China, and Democritus University of Thrace, Greece.

He is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, Washington, DC, USA, and the European Academy of Humanities, Letters, Law, and Sciences (Academia Europaea), London, UK.

Professor Chrousos has received numerous international awards for his work. These include the Richard E. Weitzman Memorial Award, US Endocrine Society (1987), the Superior Service Award, US Public Health Service (1992), the Clinical Investigator Award, US Endocrine Society (1997), the Hans Selye Award, Hans Selye Foundation, Montreal, Canada (1997), the Pharmacia-Upjohn International Award for Excellence in Published Clinical Research (First Prize), US Endocrine Society (1999), the Novera Herbert Spector Award, International Society for Neuroimmunomodulation, Lugano, Switzerland (1999), the Henning Andersen Prize, European Society for Paediatric Endocrinology, Brussels, Belgium (2000), the Sir Edward Sharpey-Schafer Medal, British Endocrine Societies (2002), the Lifetime Achievement Award, International Society for Psycho-Neuro-Endocrinology, Glasgow, UK (2006), the Henning Andersen Prize, European Society for Paediatric Endocrinology, Helsinki, Finland (2007), and the Geoffrey Harris Prize in Neuroendocrinology, European Society of Endocrinology, Berlin, Germany (2008). In 2011, the competent international committee awarded him the Bodossaki Excellence Award of the namesake Foundation. In 2014, he received the Fred Conrad Koch Award, the highest honour of the US Endocrine Society.

Recent Awards/Distinctions

2021 – Elected Member, Sigma Xi (ΣΞ) Scientific Research Honor Society, USA

2021 – Prix Gallien Award in Scientific Research, Athens Greece

2022 – Delbert Fisher Research Scholar Award, US Endocrine Society, Atlanta, GA, USA

2022 – Carl Gemzell Lecture, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweeden

2023 – Transatlantic Alliance Award, Endocrine Society and European Society of Endocrinology, Chicago, Illinois, USA


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Αφήστε μια απάντηση

Η ηλ. διεύθυνση σας δεν δημοσιεύεται. Τα υποχρεωτικά πεδία σημειώνονται με *